top of page
  • Writer's pictureWendy Warman

SSAFA Big Brew Up


Fiona Plant (via Facebook) reports: "Karen Thomas sent me these photos of this event at Hullavington that so many of you contributed cakes for. It was very much appreciated and quite impressive for such short notice. Hopefully we can continue this involvement with our local regiment and their families. Thank you to all members who baked and delivered cakes, and also to the members from the other Chippenham groups - Lockside, Pewsham and Hardenhuish. Special thanks to Anne Utvaer for taking on the coordinating on the day when I was unable to be there. This is a copy of the letter from Karen:-

Dear Fiona

I have attached three photos that give you a flavour of the day; it was wonderful, if I am honest (and biased!).

Your cakes were a huge boost to proceedings; as I explained to you, the act of you (the four Chippenham WIs) banding together in support of the regiment means far more to them than cakes. It is a gesture of community appreciation, which goes a long way in terms of morale. It was also of huge benefit to SSAFA; your instant response to my call to arms was both inspiring and timely; I know I can always rely on the WI, truly.

(We were also able to keep a couple of the traybakes back to use at the children's Halloween party and gatherings, so - quite literally - your gift of cake kept giving).

Commonwealth Day - the day falls on March 13th in 2017, and although not confirmed, there is likelihood that the regiment will be involved in Chippenham Town's celebrations on the day - there will be a need for more cake, but we have time to plan.

** N.B. I still have a cake box and a cake tin in my car, which belongs to the WI contributors.

Please pass on my grateful thanks to the Chippenham WIs for their support; we remain forever grateful.

Kind regards,

Karen Thomas Community Engagement (WILTS) SSAFA, the Armed Forces Charity


13 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page